Free

Multiple Dates

HKDI inspire* Design Thinking for Well-being 2020

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
HKDI inspire* Design Thinking for Well-being 2020

About this Event

Understanding the role and value of design for human well-being is crucial for us to adapt to unpredictable changes of the times; not only to remain relevant but also to contribute to a better society. The programme will explore the significance of people-centric thinking as the key to unlock future horizons, and ways to break the boundaries among products, services, systems and processes, converging into integrated solutions.

As a leading Design education provider, HKDI advocates the application of Design Thinking across disciplines as a problem-solving soft skill, and the role and value of Design in enhancing human well-being. Riding on previous success of the two series of HKDI inspire* Design Thinking lectures and workshops in 2018 and 2019, also in alignment with HKDI’s latest academic focus on Design for Well-being, this year we delve deep into the user-centric aspect of Design Thinking: innovation to improve the human state of being comfortable, healthy and happy in a multidimensional manner.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Lecture Series | Day 1 : 3 Nov 2020 (Tue)

Harnessing Human Experience for Healthy Ageing

Professor Lynne Corner

Director of Engagement / Director of VOICE

National Innovation Centre for Ageing, Newcastle University

16:30 HKT | 08:30 GMT | 03:30 EST | 01:30 PST

Online

By 2050, many regions and cities will have undergone profound demographic transitions and transformations with more older than younger people, offering both opportunities and challenges, and a renewed global interest in wellbeing economies. The UK National Innovation Centre for Ageing (NICA) co-designs and co-develops products and services with consumers and business partners to support healthy ageing. NICA’s unique branded approach — Ageing Intelligence™ — combines the latest in artificial intelligence and big data, with human experience harnessed through VOICE. VOICE is an international organisation established to harness public insights, to illustrate real people’s needs in real circumstances and understand what is important to their wellbeing, now and in the future. The ultimate goal is to ensure healthy ageing as part of a healthy economy and society, to ensure people across our planet can make the most often incredible extension in life expectancy and live healthier, longer lives.

Design by People, for People

Dr Yanki Lee

Co-Founder, Enable Foundation

17:00 HKT | 09:00 GMT | 04:00 EST | 02:00 PST

Online

“Design for Our Future Selves” was the action statement advocated by Professor Roger Coleman since the beginning of 1990s for the design reform response to political changes on social inclusion in the UK. Worked with Prof Coleman since 2000, Dr Lee elaborates this statement into designerly way of thinking and doing which encourages designers to immerse ourselves in the living reality of others, i.e. not just design with the others but design as the others. With her collective, Enable Foundation, they always start each project as a design research process to investigate critical social issues and map out the ingenious everysday innovation by people, i.e. design by people. This enables the team to develop frameworks to involve citizens for effective co-creation to design for our future selves.

Design for Well-being as an Academic Direction

HKDI Project Sharing

17:30 HKT | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 02:30 PST

Online

Panel Discussion

17:45 HKT | 09:45 GMT | 04:45 EST | 02:45 PST

Online

Panel Members: Professor Lynne Corner and Dr Yanki Lee

Moderator: Mr Michael Chan, Head of Academic Development and Director, HKDI Design Thinking Team, Hong Kong Design Institute

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Lecture Series | Day 2 : 4 Nov 2020 (Wed)

Human Centred Design Masterclass

Mr Richard Hall

Managing Director, Pd-M International Ltd

16:30 HKT | 08:30 GMT | 03:30 EST | 01:30 PST

Online

How do you ensure a product is fit-for-purpose and has high efficacy to the user? Following the theme of wellbeing in the context of design, Richard will discuss the strategies to adopt when considering human centred design. He will also provide a case study of a medical device case study. The keynote will be of interest to designers, academics, engineers, health economists and biomedical experts.

The concept and design of a sustainable ageing community

Mr Lawrence Lui

Co-Founder, Longevity Design House

17:00 HKT | 09:00 GMT | 04:00 EST | 02:00 PST

Online

As a social enterprise dedicated to providing interior design solutions for the elderly and people with physical disabilities, Longevity House Design (LDH) focuses on cross-sector collaboration to continually enhance its service scope for its target group, also to embark on new projects under covid-19. This lecture will share LDH’s real cases to address several key issues, namely how the practitioner can identify the service gap of the ageing at home market and develop minimum viable service, how to work with start-up and local manufactory brands for building the eco-system, and how to create social impact through the social enterprise model and amid the backdrop of the new normal economy.

Design for Well-being and Organisational Change for Drug Abuse Rehabilitation

HKDI Project Sharing

17:30 HKT | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 02:30 PST

Online

Panel Discussion

17:45 HKT | 09:45 GMT | 04:45 EST | 02:45 PST

Online

Panel Members: Mr Richard Hall, Mr Lawrence Lui and Ms Angelique Tam, Executive Director, The Society For the Aid and Rehabilitation of Drug Abusers

Moderator: Mr Edwin Wong, Lecturer, Department of Communication Design and Lead Facilitator, HKDI Design Thinking Team, Hong Kong Design Institute

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Lecture Series | Day 3 : 5 Nov 2020 (Thur)

A Slap in the Face: Shaping Presents through Design

Dr Laura Clèries

Director of ELISAVA Research, ELISAVA Barcelona School of Design and Engineering

16:30 HKT | 08:30 GMT | 03:30 EST | 01:30 PST

Online

Design captures the latent signals of future industrial, anthropological and sociocultural transformations. This inspirational talk will review design projects that exemplify the megatrends that are going to generate our alternative presents.

Creativity in Context: The Role of Design Schools

Dr Albert Fuster

Academic Director, ELISAVA Barcelona School of Design and Engineering

16:50 HKT| 08:50 GMT | 03:50 EST | 01:50 PST

Online

To face current emerging challenges leads schools to no longer be passive institutions, but rather active agents in societies. An initial reflection on the role of schools will lead to relevant examples that promote meaningful and impactful interactions between schools, people and environments.

Design Does. Not an Exhibition but an Act

Mr Pau Garcia

Co-founder, Domestic Data Streamers

17:15 HKT | 09:15 GMT | 04:15 EST | 02:15 PST

Online

We will explore how Design Does exhibition has been created not as an exhibition but as a city laboratory, a space of dialogue instead of monologues, an ongoing conversation made physical about what this discipline is doing today and the impact it can have over all of us.

Panel Discussion (LIVE)

Design Does: Visions on the Role of Design

17:40 HKT | 09:40 GMT | 04:40 EST | 02:40 PST

Online

Panel Members: Dr Laura Cleries, Dr Albert Fuster, Mr Pau Garcia and Mr Terence Wong, Head, Department of Digital Media, Hong Kong Design Institute

Moderator: Mr Keith Tam, Head, Department of Communication Design, Hong Kong Design Institute

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Lecture Series | Day 4 : 6 Nov 2020 (Fri)

Designing in the Post Covid World

Professor Chao Zhao

Deputy Dean, Academy of Art and Design

Founder and Director, Healthcare Design Innovation Lab

Tsinghua University

16:30 HKT | 08:30 GMT | 03:30 EST | 01:30 PST

Online

The crisis of covid-19 has changed the social order of human beings, and then affected the design paradigm of the artificial world. The world in the post pandemic era might be uncertainty, which is regarded as a dynamic situation that can affect human experience. We believe that Global problems caused by the covid-19 crisis need global solutions, which need knowledge to support an integrated system, support people-oriented design and future technology. With the theme of "Designing in the Post Covid World", Professor Zhao is going to introduce the design research and practice I conducted for the Covid-19 crisis in the Tsinghua University.

A trustworthy intelligent health and wellbeing with design thinking and collaborative action

Mr Clube Ng

CEO, eHealth Research Institute Ltd

Chairman for Partnership

City Innovation Hub

17:00 HKT | 09:00 GMT | 04:00 EST | 02:00 PST

Online

Hong Kong positions itself as the world leading city in Asia. Its healthcare system, like Octopus, has once been the most advanced in the world. The legislation of the eHealth Record Sharing System is another advanced move which it is the first eHealth law in Asia.

In recent years the development of innovation technology has been much faster than imagination over the world. Smart Health, in use of IoT, Big Data and AI, has gradually come to the front. For example, China uses Health Code, a government-led intelligent health and social control system to tackle the COVID-19. It dictates who should be quarantined or allowed into subways, malls and public spaces.

This year face recognition was banned in San Francisco and Boston. Intelligent technology and system have increasingly raised the trust and privacy concerns. This short lecture hopes to inspire the audience to think about the possible new intelligent health system, the citizen-centric Trustworthy Intelligent Health and Wellbeing. The speaker will share the view and few potential cases transformable to the new initiatives with design thinking and collaborative action.

Design Thinking in Teaching and Learning

HKDI Project Sharing

17:30 HKT | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 02:30 PST

Online

Panel Discussion

17:45 HKT | 09:45 GMT | 04:45 EST | 02:45 PST

Online

Panel Members: Professor Chao Zhao, Mr Clube Ng, Dr Tony Chan, Specialist in General Surgery and Mr Sammy Kwan, Marketing Director, Genesis Surgery

Moderator: Mr Keith Tam, Head, Department of Communication Design and Associate Director, HKDI Design Thinking Team, Hong Kong Design Institute

Share with friends

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved